Annual Student Conference 

The 11th Annual CSULB HFES Student Chapter Conference

  • Date: Saturday, March 5th, 2016
  • Time: 9:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
  • Location: California State University, Long Beach
  • Venue: University Student Union (USU), room 205 (parking map)

Online Registration will be available until Thursday, March 3rd. Register early for complimentary parking!

About the Conference

The CSULB HFES Regional Conference is a local forum for the exchange of ideas in all areas of human factors as well as an opportunity to meet students in the MS Human Factors Psychology Program at Cal State Long Beach and surrounding schools.

Invited speakers address a wide range of human factors issues of interest to practitioners, researchers, and students and in the field of human factors. A speaker breakout session will provide attendees the opportunity for small group discussion with our speakers.

Conrad Rorie, NASA Ames Research Center

Conrad Rorie is a research scientist at NASA Ames Research Center working on the Unmanned Aircraft System (UAS) Integration Into the National Airspace System (NAS) project. He is a member of the Human Systems Integration (HSI) technical area, which is tasked with identifying the minimum information requirements for UAS pilots flying in civil airspace. Conrad came to NASA through California State University, Long Beach, where he earned his Master’s degree in Human Factors Psychology and gained aviation research experience at their Center for Human Factors in Advanced Aeronautics Technologies (CHAAT).

Dr. Shannon Toftely, Pacific Science & Engineering Group

Shannon Toftely is a Scientist at Pacific Science & Engineering Group (PSE) with expertise in applying cognitive science to optimize user experiences through rigorous applications of innovative, human-centric research. She earned her B.S. in Applied Psychology from the University of Minnesota, Duluth and her M.S. and Ph.D. in Cognitive Psychology from the University of Oklahoma with minor areas of focus in Quantitative and Biological Psychology. Shannon has developed and executed numerous projects investigating various aspects of human cognition, primarily in the domains of memory, visual attention, and decision making. At PSE, Shannon has applied her expertise in cognitive science and human factors to support several DoD projects and acquisition programs.

Dr. Heather Barker, Department of Design at California State University, Long Beach 

Heather Barker is the Director of ROAM.STUDIO, an interactive design research space developing solutions across a range of scales – from urban to haptic. Engaging in a human-centered approach to design, the studio develops novel solutions integrating the psychology of experience and the performative factors of interface and space. In Heather Barker’s scholarly work, a synthesis of philosophy of mind with philosophy of science reveals synergistic conditions in our hybrid virtual-physical condition. This work develops synthesized design methodologies applicable to personal interface, space and sustainable architectural and urban conditions while supporting pedagogy built upon a rigorous theoretical premise combined with the intelligence of making. Heather Barker practices and teaches in both Los Angeles and in Munich, Germany

A poster session will provide students and professionals an opportunity to present research and human factors projects. Those who wish to participate may submit posters which will be on display during the poster session. Students are encouraged to submit. Poster submission will be available until Wednesday February 24th. Posters must be emailed to by 6pm on Wednesday February 24th. Poster submissions should be in PowerPoint format, dimensions: 42" X 42".  


Interested in joining us? Register here.

Conference registration will be available until Thursday March 3rd. Registration for the poster session will be available until Wednesday February 24th. You may also register the day of the conference at the reception desk between 8:00 a.m. and 9:15 a.m.


Complimentary parking permits will be available to those who register on or before Wednesday, March 3rd. Parking permits are limited and available on a first come first serve basis. They will be distributed at the intersection of Beach Drive and West Campus Drive (see map for details). 


If you have any question regarding the conference, please email us at We look forward to see you this year!